Home » Developer & Programmer » Designer » Data Modeling Question (General)
Data Modeling Question [message #332821] Wed, 09 July 2008 16:37 Go to next message
justbob3377
Hi, I am new to Oracle FAQs, and this is my first post.

(I actually do not currently use Oracle, but have attended Oracle User Groups and taken Oracle classes in school.)

My goal in joining is to be surrounded by more sophisticated database users who can help me brush up on my Data Modeling and Database Design skills.

In reality, I am trying to build an Expense database to hold all of my expenses, receipts, invoices, etc. I am using MS Access to create a prototype, and then will likely use PHP for the final version. Regardless, I hope you Oracle types don't mind answering my generic Data Modeling questions!

The main tables are tblExpenses and tblExpenseDetails, and ty problem is this...

All recipts contain these common fields...

tblExpense
------------
ID
ExpenseDate
Merchant
ExpenseTotal

However, for non-retail receipts/bills, there are extra fields that are unique to a given receipt-type...

(Fuel Receipts)
FuelType
TotalGallons
CostPerGallon

(Electric Bill)
Reading_Start
Reading_End
Total_KWH
CostPerKWH

(Telephone)
LocalServiceCost
LocalTaxes&Surcharges
LongDistanceCost
LongDistanceTaxes&Surcharges

(Airfare)
DepartureDate
ReturnDate
TravelFrom
TravelTo

and so on...

If I placed all of these fields in tblExpense it would contain lots of empty fields, and be very inefficient. However, all of these fields ARE Expense fields?!

In generic - non-Oracle - terms, what is the best way to model this?

Do I create a main superordinate tblExpense and then create subordinate tblExpense_Fuel, tblExpense_Electric, tblExpense_Telephone, tblExpense_Airfare which have the same PK but that include the extra fields?

What I do know is that I need to capture and store this disparate data in it's own place. (And I will likely need customized forms for each "Sub Expense Type".)