Home » Infrastructure » Windows » Am unable to start DBCONSOLE after initial installation of Oracle 11g R2 (Oracle 11g R2 Windows 7)
Am unable to start DBCONSOLE after initial installation of Oracle 11g R2 [message #585776] Wed, 29 May 2013 13:50 Go to next message
Robs58
Greetings to All!

I am totally new to Oracle...TOTALLY new. Right out the gate, I experienced the problem of not being able to start the
DBCONSOLE immediately after installing Oracle 11G R2 onto my Windows 7 box. Here is what I have ran from the command line:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\sandifer>emctl start dbconsole
Environment variable ORACLE_UNQNAME not defined. Please set ORACLE_UNQNAME to database unique name.

C:\Users\sandifer>SET ORACLE_HOSTNAME=localhost

C:\Users\sandifer>SET ORACLE_UNQNAME=orcl

C:\Users\sandifer>emctl status dbconsole
OC4J Configuration issue. C:\app\sandifer\product\11.2.0\dbhome_1/oc4j/j2ee/OC4J_DBConsole_localhost_orcl not found.

I checked the above listed file path, and sure enough, OC4J_DBConsole_localhost_orcl is missing.

Would deeply appreciate it if someone would point me in the right direction.

Thanks,

Rob
Re: Am unable to start DBCONSOLE after initial installation of Oracle 11g R2 [message #585777 is a reply to message #585776] Wed, 29 May 2013 14:25 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
>OC4J Configuration issue. C:\app\sandifer\product\11.2.0\dbhome_1/oc4j/j2ee/OC4J_DBConsole_localhost_orcl not found.
>I checked the above listed file path, and sure enough, OC4J_DBConsole_localhost_orcl is missing.

what exists instead?
DIR C:\app\sandifer\product\11.2.0\dbhome_1/oc4j/j2ee/OC4J*
Re: Am unable to start DBCONSOLE after initial installation of Oracle 11g R2 [message #585907 is a reply to message #585777] Thu, 30 May 2013 16:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Robs58
j2ee contains the following folders:

home
oc4j_applications
OC4J_DBConsole