Home » Applications » Oracle Fusion Apps & E-Business Suite » Looking for guidance
icon1.gif  Looking for guidance [message #120945] Tue, 24 May 2005 22:08 Go to next message
vanandan2001
Sir/Madam,

I am a Software Engineer working in .NET platform with SQL Server 2000 as backend since 2001. I am quiet familiar of writing SQL Scripts (Procedures, Triggers and SQL Server DTS since it is my work). I am planning to change my career in near to future. I am so keen to learn Oracle 11i Apps, which has always-good job market. I think that Oracle 11i is a vast area. So I would like to clarify the following regarding Oracle 11i Apps.

1) What is pre-requisite qualification to learn Oracle 11i Apps and which module is suitable to me since I don't have any accounting background (CRM,HRMS,Sales,Financials....)?

2) Suggest me the best place to learn the course at Chennai.

Thanks in advance,
Regards,
Anandan
Re: Looking for guidance [message #121047 is a reply to message #120945] Wed, 25 May 2005 09:30 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Steve Corey
1) The pre-requisite you are asking about, I believe you already possess. Having a technical background will help you out immensely as you attempt to learn Applications. The biggest pre-req is not anything related to Oracle. It is having patience and being humble. Oracle apps will humble the most intelligent man if he has no patience. It is a long process to learn it. The documentation is ESSENTIAL to read and probably more than one time (and there is a TON of it!)

The modules I would learn about are the basics for any business:

Purchasing/Procurement
Payables
Receivables
Grants Accounting (you do not need a CPA to be able to use this module)
Human Resources (w/ payroll extension)
Order Management

Those are the big ones but there are also hundreds of smaller add-in modules, but these are the core apps.

As far as recommending a training course, I am sorry I cannot help there, I am in the US =\

HTH,
Steve