Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Searching Text Query
Searching Text Query [message #214320] Mon, 15 January 2007 17:59 Go to next message
Devon Dodo
Hi

I am a total novice & need some help with a query I've got in Oracle Discoverer.

What I have got is a query that searches a text field looking for where the text I am searching exsists and then pulling out the necessary entry for that.

That works fine. My only problem is when I conduct a keyword search and get my results I don't necessary know what keyword is in the entry returned unless I read the whole thing.

If possible what I want is to conduct the query, get the result and also include a column that informs me what keyword was hit.

Is this possible and if so how do I go about writing it?

Thanks

Jon
Re: Searching Text Query [message #214454 is a reply to message #214320] Tue, 16 January 2007 08:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
skooman
Jon,

Do you mean you have a parameter (let's say p_text_search) and a condition (let's say c_text_search with the content: item_text like '%:p_text_search%')?

If so, you can show the value of p_text_search either in the title of the workbook, by entering &parameters there. Or you can have a column which repeats that value for every row in the resultset; to do so create a calculation with the content :p_text_search (this one will be at the bottom of the list of available items).

Regards,
Sabine
Re: Searching Text Query [message #214618 is a reply to message #214320] Wed, 17 January 2007 04:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Devon Dodo
Hi Sabine

Thanks for reply. As I said I am a novice, can write the query but that's about all!!

Anyway I am not sure if I understood you or not.

Here is an example of my SQL

SELECT BUS_REGION.ORDEROBJECTIDENTIFIER, BUS_REGION.ORDERSOURCE, BUS_REGION.ORDERTEXT1
FROM STAGE.BUS_REGION BUS_REGION
WHERE ( ( (
BUS_REGION.ORDERTEXT1 LIKE '%123456789%'
OR BUS_REGION.ORDERTEXT1 LIKE '%987654321%'
) ) )
;