Home » Infrastructure » Windows » Oracle installation dba user and pwd (Create DBA user and password)
Oracle installation dba user and pwd [message #275591] Sun, 21 October 2007 23:43 Go to next message
alexaoracle
Hi, I just installed Oracle 10g on Windows Vista,
since it is my first time I choose the "automatic" installation.
At some point the oui ask me for a password for the database orcl and I entered it. It was a successful installation unlike a little slow. The problem, which I believe is a big one, is that when I start isqlplus dont know how to log myself in. I entered the password but I need the connection string (try orcl, but no) Yes you can laugh, I am so lost..
where and how can I create my user name and password? The dba user.
Help greatly appreciated
Re: Oracle installation dba user and pwd [message #275598 is a reply to message #275591] Mon, 22 October 2007 00:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Try to check the oracle_home\network\admin\TNSNAMES.ORA file; it might contain alias to your database. Usernames you might try are SYS or SYSTEM; provide the password you have chosen during the setup process.
Re: Oracle installation dba user and pwd [message #275602 is a reply to message #275598] Mon, 22 October 2007 00:56 Go to previous messageGo to next message
alexaoracle
hi, I just opened the file you mentioned this is what I have:

# tnsnames.ora Network Configuration File: C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1\network\admin\tnsnames.ora
# Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

ORCL =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = ***.***.**.***)(PORT = 1521))
(CONNECT_DATA =
(SERVER = DEDICATED)
(SERVICE_NAME = orcl)
)
)

EXTPROC_CONNECTION_DATA =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS_LIST =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC1))
)
(CONNECT_DATA =
(SID = PLSExtProc)
(PRESENTATION = RO)
)
)